Bitters, A Coveted Gift

I never imagined the health opportunities for bitters, from inflammation to hormones, bile, detoxification and weight loss. Now I look for them in a variety of flavors.

My favorite part of social media is meeting new people that eventually become friends.

About a year ago I stumbled upon bitters at brunch with a physician friend of mine, Renee, when she ordered a simple drink consisting of club soda, bitters and a wedge each of lemon and lime. This brunch commenced my research and interest into bitters. And eventually led to my friendship with Colette, after months of casual Twitter exchanges about food.

After brunch with my friend, Renee, bitters, which until then I only thought of as another ingredient to add into mixed drinks, suddenly became interesting. I read about their impact on inflammation and hormones. I read about their impact on bile production and the role of bile in detoxification and weight loss (especially for women over 40.) I went to the liquor store and bought bitters in a handful of flavors. Until then, I didn’t even know bitters came in anything but the standard aromatic bitters. I was sold.

Then one day, my Twitter acquaintance, Colette, suggested meeting at a health food store/cafe in Federal Way. And she showed up with a beautiful bottle of homemade orange bitters, along with some raspberry vodka she also made with her son.

We all know there’s no better gift than something someone makes with a homemade recipe and their own time, talent and love. This is why for me, these wonderful orange bitters are truly a coveted gift.

This week I released a part-devotional, part-cookbook called Sweet Pickles Take Time: 12 Days of God’s Love and Grandma’s Recipes. I too enjoy canning fruits and vegetables from the beautiful Yakima Valley and giving them away to friends throughout the year. If you’re interested in old-fashioned recipes passed down through time from my maternal and paternal grandmas, Sweet Pickles Take Time is available in print and digital release via Amazon.com.

 

 

Author: Debra Yergen, Author

Author, writer, dreamer and all-around fan of inspiring others through great story-telling. My books include Abiding Garce for Borrowed Time (written with my father living through dementia), Expressions of Gratitude, Manna Falling Spring Beginnings, Manifesting Passion: Culture, Character, Competency (a book on attracting, developing, and retaining exceptional board leadership for nonprofits), Grace Knows Your Name, Sweet Pickles Take Time, the Creating Job Security Resource Guide book series and the Gift of Grace fictional series, including: The Eulogy, The Bench and The Gathering. My passions include: growing things (plants & people), animals, healthy gluten-free cooking, Maui and my faith. A life coach and former TV news reporter, I care about the world, but avoid politics and anything that divides people. Deep down we all share the same hopes, dreams, and desires. We all laugh, love and cry. My motto: Life is hard. Be kind.

Leave a comment